L is for L’Atelier Gourmand

L is for L’Atelier Gourmand, which with my excellent Google Translate abilities, means either ‘Gourmet Workshop’ or ‘Greedy Workshop‘. Take your pick!

L'Atelier Gourmand on Urbanspoon

It took us a while to locate the actual cafe, since it was not directly on Goodwood Rd (it’s a deceiving address), but on the side street next to the Capri Cinema. As you turn the corner, you will be met by quirky signs and colourful things. Upon entering, you will see a smallish cafe area, strange artwork, deliberately torn walls, placemats and a chalkboard with daily specials.I will let the photos speak for itself.

image

image

image

image

image

image

We ordered a Dark Belgian Iced Chocolate $5.50 – for some reason, my boyfriend loves ordering iced chocolate. I am not a big fan of dark chocolate, so this didn’t have much of an appeal to me as it had a strange taste.

image

I am loving the placemats! It does add to the atmosphere of the place – and the waiters were polite but not overly friendly nor chatty, so perhaps that also added to the infamous snobby French character (lol).

image

My jam and cream croissant! $4.50 i think! This was delicious – flaky, buttery and crispy croissant. Oooh I wanted another one as soon as I finished. Wished it was bigger!!!

image

My friend’s ham and cheese croissant – quite pricey though. I recall it being around $11.90! Though it was very delicious I hear but not exactly worth the cost.

image

Turnip and Carrot soup – very interesting presentation with the spider web. Taste wise – my friend said she wasn’t sure if it was her dulled senses due to a slight cold, but it was a bit bland. Texture and consistency looked good though.

image

Mushroom ragout with cheese puff. My boyfriend ordered this – the mushrooms were tasty and the cheese puff was delicious – except we barely only had a bite of the cheese puff. It was hidden under all the mushrooms and was a tiny bit of pastry.Would have preferred more pastry to eat with the mushrooms.

image

This was chicken breast with vegetables – I forgot the name as it was my friend’s dish. She and her boyfriend disputed whether it was tasty or not. She enjoyed it as it was a more sweet dish whereas the boyfriend did not enjoy it. Give it a go and form your own opinion 😉 Beautifully presented though!

image

Ooh..dessert! This was a passionfruit mousse on a biscuit base. Delicious – a bit of tangy-ness, but sweet meringues and lovely toffee!!!

image

Salted caramel chocolate fondant – with oozing salted caramel – delicious. Ah…there wasn’t enough for the both of us =P

image

Overall, dessert = Grade A but savoury, B – .

We were still hungry after so…kinda a bit disappointing. But it is a quirky funky place to hang out. Waiter was very good in keeping our glasses topped with water, though polite but a bit cold. I do want to try the other dishes, so am willing to give it another go – perhaps later on in the year. Hopefully they will have more desserts for me to try :3

the alphabet of Food…

Leave a Reply

